Deactivate Facebook Account

Deactivating Facebook account is a great alternative to permanently deleting it. If you permanently delete Facebook account all your data, posts, photos, comments will be lost. You will also lose access to Facebook products such as Facebook Messenger. If you just deactivate your Facebook account, you will still be able to use Facebook Messenger and use your Facebook account to login to third-party websites and applications.

In order to deactivate your Facebook account, you need to login to your Facebook account and click on the blue triangle icon at the top right corner of the page.

You will see a Facebook profile menu popup. Select the “Settings & Privacy” menu option to get to the next menu.

A screenshot of a cell phone

Description automatically generated

In the next menu click on the “Settings” to go to the Facebook settings.

A screenshot of a cell phone

Description automatically generated

You will see a screen with all Facebook settings divided into multiple sections. Each section is listed in the sidebar on the left. You need to select “Your Facebook Information” section in order to get to the account deactivation option. Once “Your Facebook Information” section is selected look for the “Deactivation and Deletion” option on the right. You may have to scroll down to get to this option. Click on “View” link next to it.

A screenshot of a cell phone

Description automatically generatedYou will get to the “Deactivating or Deleting your Facebook account” page. To deactivate your account select “Deactivate Account” option and click “Continue to Account Deactivation” button.

After clicking on the “Continue to Account Deactivation” button you will see a conformation dialog asking you to enter your Facebook account password to confirm Facebook account deactivation. Enter your password and click “Continue” to finalize your Facebook deactivation.

After your Facebook account is deactivated your Facebook profile will be disabled and your name and photos will be deleted from the most things you shared. You will still be able to continue using Facebook Messenger.

Facebook Comments